The Robert F. Ray Faculty Award was established by President Willard L. Boyd in honor of Dean Robert F. Ray, The University of Iowa faculty representative to the Big Ten Conference. Dean Ray served as faculty representative from 1956 until his death in 1982. This award is presented annually to one male and one female senior student-athlete who have completed eligibility and have demonstrated outstanding academic excellence, athletic excellence, and leadership. Recipients who pursue a graduate or professional degree at The University of Iowa and have not exhausted their athletic grant-in-aid may also receive an Iowa tuition grant up to $1,000 to be used within three years of receiving the award. 


2019 Award Recipients 

  • Ben Colin 
  • Molly Kelly

 Click here to learn more about the current and previous recipients


Visit the nominations page to learn more about the nomination and selection process.