Nomination process for Finkbine Medallion


Alumni nominations are solicited from the University community beginning in late-November and are due mid-January.


The faculty nomination process is facilitated in cooperation with a faculty member in the college who serves as an advisor for this process. At least three faculty nominations must be forwarded to the Finkbine Dinner Committee for consideration. For faculty nominations, colleges rotate each year, with the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences appearing in the rotation every four years because of the large number of faculty in that college.

College rotation:

CLAS, Education, Engineering, Law, CLAS, Medicine, Public Health, Nursing, CLAS, Pharmacy, Business, Dentistry, Graduate, CLAS


Nominations for staff recipient are solicited from the campus community in late January and are due late February. The award will rotate each year between staff in the merit and professional and scientific (P&S) classifications.


Student nominations are solicited from recognized student organizations and each collegiate dean in late January and are due late February. Deans and recognized student organizations may nominate two undergraduates and two graduate/professional students for consideration.

Selection process

Each year the Finkbine Dinner Committee (composed of students, staff, faculty, and an alumnus) select the recipients of the Hancher-Finkbine Medallions. The alumni recipient is informed by the University President in February of each year prior to the dinner. Student and faculty recipients are informed of their selection by the Finkbine Dinner Committee and publicly announced at the Finkbine Dinner each May in the Iowa Memorial Union. 

2020 Hancher-Finkbine Medallion Nominations 

Please review the criteria, use the linked form for the nomination you wish to submit, and follow the included instructions. Write to or call 319-335-3557 if you have questions or require assistance.

Nomination criteria

Submit your nomination form here:

Due Wednesday, February 26th at 11:59 P.M:

Due Thursday, March 5th at 11:59 P.M:

Closed for 2020:

  • 2020 Alumni Nomination

Additional Nomination Forms


Related Navigation